

## Press Release: First time in Nebraska history, 2 judges appointed on the same day from the same firm. June 24, 2011

The Omaha law firm of Gross & Welch is pleased to announce that Governor Heineman has appointed Michael W. Pirtle as a Nebraska Court of Appeals Judge and Sheryl L. Lohaus a County Court Judge. This is the first time in Nebraska history that two judges were appointed on the same day from the same firm.

Pirtle earned his law degree from the University of Nebraska College of Law in 1978. He joined the firm as a director in 2006. Prior to that, he was a Senior Staff Attorney for American Family Insurance from 2000 to 2006. Since 2010 he has served as Vice Chair of the Nebraska Supreme Court Dispute Resolutions Advisory Council. Pirtle was named a fellow of the Nebraska State Bar Foundation and received the Midland University Master Teacher Award in 1993.

Lohaus earned her law degree from Creighton University School of Law in 1990. She is active in the Nebraska Volunteer Lawyer Project and has served as a guardian ad litem. She has also served as a school board member for St. James Seton and is currently a board member for Madonna School in Omaha. Lohaus completed mediation training programs in 2005 and 2006.

The law firm of Gross & Welch was founded in 1927 by Daniel J. Gross. The firm includes 23 attorneys practicing in the following areas: civil litigation, business law, insurance law, estate planning and probate, employment and labor law, real estate, and workers' compensation.

This press release is for immediate dissemination. We would appreciate it if you would publish this in your publication with the attached photos. If you have any further questions, please contact Keegan Stein, Communications, or Jennifer Colwell, Administrator, at the Gross & Welch law firm, (402) 392-1500. Ms. Stein's email is: kstein@grosswelch.com; Ms. Colwell's email is: jcolwell@grosswelch.com.

 0 FFICE

 1500 Omaha Tower

 2120 South 72nd Street

 Omaha, NE 68124-2342

 www.grosswelch.com

 Phone
 (402) 392-1500

 Fax
 (402) 392-8101

William J. Dunn Thomas A. Grennan Joseph L. Leahy, Jr. John W. Iliff Michael J. Mooney Christopher J. Tjaden Ronald L. Eggers Frederick D. Stehlik Michael J. Whaley James P. Waldron John A. Svoboda William L. Biggs William J. Lindsay, Jr. Francie C. Riedmann Robert A. Mooney Michael W. Pirtle Sheryl L. Lohaus Elizabeth M. Skinner Jennifer R. Petersen Daniel P. Lenaghan Jessica S. Wolff David G. Moore OF COUNSEL C. Dean McGrath, Jr. Washington, DC RETIRED Eugene P. Welch DECEASED Daniel J. Gross Harry L. Welch Harold W. Kauffman